top of page
  • Writer's pictureAzarel

Reviews: Books: The BFG by Roald Dahl

Title: The BFG

Writer: Roald Dahl

Pages: 208

Genre: Fantasy fiction

Published: 1982

Publisher: Penguin Books

Summary: Captured by a giant! The BFG is no ordinary bone-crunching giant. He is far too nice and jumbly. It's lucky for Sophie that he is. Had she been carried off in the middle of the night by the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater, the Bonecruncher, or any of the other giants-rather than the BFG-she would have soon become breakfast.


When Sophie hears that they are flush-bunking off in England to swollomp a few nice little chiddlers, she decides she must stop them once and for all. And the BFG is going to help her!


Review: This book honestly blows my mind. Roald Dahl is one of the few - if not only - writers who can really draw me into the story and just connect to the story. He makes me feel that I am there watching the events in the book unfold.

Roald Dahl’s world-building and way of introducing his characters are unique in such a way, that you just know that it is Roald Dahl - even without looking at the cover of the book. All of the books that I have read are all masterpieces.

Roald Dahl’s way of storytelling is very fun and compelling that he really draws you into the book, and basically gets you addicted. I couldn’t stop reading the book.


I absolutely loved The BFG. He is very nice but uneducated; therefore making him speaking strangely sometimes, using some bad grammar - but that just adds to his charm. In my opinion, that makes him a bit friendlier.


One thing I noticed from the book is that the book is more detailed and a little bit more “brutal.” In this book, the giants were described as going off to eat children every night - which I don’t remember being in the movie. The BFG also talks about the “flavors” of the people around the globe; such as the Danes who have a dog-like taste, turkey-flavored Turks, and the greasy Greeks.


Overall, I really liked the book. It really grabbed my attention and got me reading non-stop. It was a very solid book; and is - like every Roald Dahl book - a beautiful work of art.


“Two lefts (wrongs) don’t make a right.”

~ The Big Friendly Giant


Rating/Score: 8.7/10

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page